Speaking for myself

I’m no longer calling this blog “Vegan Ithaca,” but rather, “Living a Vegan Life in Ithaca” – and it’s no longer going to attempt to catalog vegan goings-on in Ithaca. That is too big a task for me! I felt like I was representing the views of others, or that folks would think that I was trying to represent others. So now I’m only representing myself and my own views, on this site. For more about this, please click here.

I had a bit of a revelation in 2012 – namely, that I don’t have to speak for anyone else, and I don’t have to work toward anyone else’s goals. That’s a very liberating idea! I can really hold myself back when I’m worried about whether I’m stepping on someone else’s toes. So to that end, I made this change, and started a Tumblr. My hope is that this reframing will help me to feel more free in my advocacy, so I can be a better ally and a more effective activist. We’ll see how it goes.

Please feel free to click the follow button to your right (or the RSS link), so you’ll get updates. I really value feedback, so please do tell me what you think of this change, or of the Tumblr. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Speaking for myself

Leave a Comment

