Vegans oppressing vegans

I know I’m oppressive at times, in my language and in my actions: I have white privilege though I’m of mixed race, I went to an ivy league school so I have academic privilege, I have acquired American and economic privilege that makes a lot of my vegan choices easier and more plentiful than they would be otherwise. And where there’s privilege there’s oppression, whether we intend it or not.

On that note, especially if you’re white and/or unaware of the concept of intersectionality, please check out this incredibly honest and insightful video from Breeze Harper (via Vegans of Color): Black Vegan Mammy-ism: Sacrificing My Emotional Health for the White Vegan Status Quo

One thought on “Vegans oppressing vegans

Leave a Comment

